Innovative tenancy management programs recognised

February 28, 2017

Foundation Housing has been awarded Community Sector Banking’s Community Housing Impact Award for Tenancy Management, in recognition of its innovative housing projects, designed to improve the lives of disadvantaged people in Western Australia.

Judges were impressed with the quality and scope of Foundation Housing’s numerous development projects, in Perth city, as well as regional and remote areas with large Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. In particular, Foundation Housing received credit for its:

  • Recently completed 10-storey Bennett Street development – which sets a new standard for inner city affordable housing, with stunning views of the Perth city skyline, as well as large ground floor spaces for resident and community engagement projects.
  • Innovative Foyer Oxford program – a 98-unit complex in Leederville, which provides not only housing for disadvantaged homeless youth, but also vital access to support services, including education and employment training, and mental and physical healthcare. The program is a collaboration between Foundation Housing, AnglicareWA and North Metropolitan TAFE
  • Focus on return on social investment – Foundation Housing’s innovative project concepts provide vital care and support for disadvantaged people, to empower them to move out of social housing and break generational cycles of disadvantage

Foundation Housing CEO Kathleen Gregory AM said: “We are thrilled to receive Community Sector Banking’s Community Housing Impact Award for Tenancy Management.”

“This award is a welcome validation of our strategy to work with tenants, community, government and service providers to reduce demand for social housing by supporting tenants to exit the system in a positive way,” Ms Gregory said.

“Through providing vital support services, as well as secure housing, we can tackle underlying issues and address social disadvantage in our communities.”

Jeff Logan and Kathleen Gregory, Foundation Housing receive the award from Ken Langston CSB, Mi-Lin Finnie, Bendigo Bank and Rebecca Lucas CSB.